Click here to go to Home Page
Home History Birth of an Air Force
Birth of an Air Force

The Indian Air Force's History precedes World War Two by eight years. The IAF was established by on 8 Oct 1932 when its formation was announced in the Gazette of India.

No.1 Squadron formed at Drigh Road in Karachi on 1 April 1933 with a complement of six Indian Officers under the command of a British Officer.

The pages in this section showcase the initial years of the existence of the IAF.

  Westland Wapiti : The Aircraft  


E-mail Print

The first fiveIn 1943, the first official Indian Air Force published 'history' was bought out as a small 30 page booklet "Ten Years Old" on the 10th year anniversary of the raising of the IAF. The booklet was authored by Wg Cdr W W Russell, a British expatriate residing in Bombay, but who served with the IAF Volunteer Reserve. This is the first chapter from that booklet - titled "Pioneers and Planners" that told the story of the IAF for the first time ever.  The ariticle was also reproduced in the recent book on the RIAF - "The Eagle Strikes"

Last Updated on Saturday, 05 March 2011 02:56

Air Commodore Narendra

E-mail Print

A short profile of late Air Commodore Narendra - A Cranwell trainee and one of the pioneers of the Indian Air Force. He was the third seniormost officer at the time of Independence after Subroto Mukherjee and Aspy Engineer.

Last Updated on Friday, 12 February 2010 03:18

Wg Cdr A B Awan - The Photo Collection on

E-mail Print

Wing. Cmdr. Aizad_Bakhsh_Awan by Asad AwanVery rarely do we find an external website or link to be of sufficient value that it is linked directly from our website.  The Photo Collection of late Wing Commander Aizad Baksh Awan (Retd) falls under this exceptional category. Hosted by his Grandson Mr. Asad Awan (of Dera Ismail Khan, Pakistan) on the Flickr website, this collection of photos features previously unseen photos. Moreover , the captions accompanying them uncover previously unknown facts.

Last Updated on Sunday, 03 January 2010 21:01

Training At Cranwell

E-mail Print

altThe first five Indian Pilots commissioned into the Indian Air Force were H C Sircar, Subroto Mukerjee, Bhupendra Singh, A B Awan and Amarjeet Singh. A sixth officer, S N Tandon had to revert to Ground duties as he was too short! All of them were commissioned as Pilot Officers in 1933. Bhupendra Singh and Amarjeet Singh died in an air accident in Sept 33. HC Sircar left the IAF after a couple of years. Tandon died during World War Two. AB Awan opted for the Pakistani Air Force and retired as a Wing Commander. Subroto Mukerjee went on to become the first Indian Chief of Air Staff of the IAF.

Last Updated on Sunday, 11 April 2010 15:27

Copyright 2014 All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of BHARAT RAKSHAK is prohibited. If you have any comments, then please send them to us using our Feedback Form.